Log in


Member Login        

Log in

Thank you to all of you who joined us at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island for our 41st annual summer meeting. 

2023 Keynote Speakers:                                                         MANS Board of Directors                                                     IMMEDIATE pAST pRESIDENT, pRESIDENT 
Kim Burchiel, MD & Jason Rosenow, MD                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             & PAST PRESIDENT

Kim Burchiel, MD, Jason Schwalb, MD, Jason Rosenow, MD, Aditya Pandey, MD                 Marc Moisi, Md, Teck Soo, MD, Cindy Wikstrom, Jason Schwalb, MD, Aditya Pandey, MD                                        Jason Schwalb, MD, Aditya Pandey, MD, Hazem Eltahawy, MD        

We are excited to announce the 2023-2025 elected board of directors
Aditya Pandey, MD - President
Teck Soo, MD - Vice President
Marc Moisi, MD - Secretary/Treasurer

Members at Large/Directors
Partha Chamiraju, MD
Justine Pearl, MD
Boyd Richards, DO
Adam Robin, MD
Nicolas Szerlip, MD

Resident Abstract Winners
1st PlaceKatherine Holste, MD Complement Inhibition Attenuates Long-term Ventriculomegaly and Improves Functional Outcomes After Intraventricular Hemorrhage
2nd PlaceJacob Pawloski, MD  Risk factors for long term opioid use after elective lumbar spine surgery: A MSSIC Study
3rd Place - Whitney Muhlestein, MD The Influence of Hand Impairment on Elbow Flexion Recovery After Nerve Reconstruction in Neonatal Brachial Plexus Palsy

We hope you are able to join us next year at Boyne Mountain Resort, August 9-11, 2024. 

We are accepting newsletter articles for our Fall 2023 newsletter. 
Please email your article to Cindy Wikstrom, 
Email subject "Fall 2023 Newsletter Submission"

Spring 2023 Newsletter
Click on image below to open

email to submit an article for the upcoming newsletter.

We Are Seeking Historical Neurosurgery Information

MANS is asking anyone who has any interesting facts, historical articles, historical facts, history of medical schools, medical programs and hospitals on the practice of neurosurgery in Michigan, please email to  We are hoping to put together a history book of to celebrate the hard work of neurosurgeons in the state of Michigan and how it all started.  

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), in conjunction with the Johns Hopkins Medicine Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality and NORC at the University of Chicago, created the AHRQ Safety Program for MRSA Prevention to develop and implement a bundle of evidence-based infection prevention and behavioral and cultural interventions designed to measurably decrease invasive
methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections in intensive care units, non-intensive care units, surgical services, and long-term care facilities across the United States. Building on AHRQ’s pioneering work using Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP) methods to reduce healthcare-associated infections (HAIs) and improve antibiotic use across multiple healthcare settings, this program aims to adapt the CUSP framework to develop and implement interventions to reduce MRSA in hospitals, surgical services, and long-term care facilities.

Click here for more information.

MANS MISSION STATEMENT: To promote, develop, and support neurosurgery and the betterment of public health in the State of Michigan.

Michigan Medicine names new chair for Department of Neurosurgery

Congratulation to Aditya S. Pandey, M.D., as newly appointed chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at University of Michigan.

Click here to read the full article.

Upcoming events

No events available

Address: 4160 John R. Street | Suite 930 | Detroit, MI 48201

Phone: 313.745.4767

Email: Vicki Diaz,

           Erin Brede,

Michigan Association of Neuro Surgeons | | 
Phone: 517-580-5701 | Fax: 517-252-4334

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software